Stocking The “New Me” Pantry

    

     ”Out with the old and in the new” that goes for the fridge and cupboard, too. Today’s assignment is to clean out the “not good for me” food and make room for the delicious new dishes that will help you reach your 2012 goals! 
 

     What little “sins” beset you?  Left over fudge and cake, the tempting dips and rich spreads?  It’s time for all those little leftovers from the season of Holiday indulgence to say good-bye. Think of it as clearing a path for ”New You”!

        Next it’s time for S-H-O-P-P-I-N-G! As I head out to the grocery store I have lots of classic healthy favorites on my list but I also like to frequently try new dishes  to keep things interesting. I usually stick to foods that are quick and easy to prepare so that I know I can easily work them into the routine.

     Get excited about restocking! The grocery stores are full of so many wonderful treats! In the aisles be an explorer, seeking exotic new delights!  Oh sure,  have your list (made using the menus planned yesterday) but the list and the menu are not chiseled in stone. There is room for substitution and addition. Changes can be made to this weeks plan at the click of a button.  Have fun and be creative as you choose what come into your home. Do, however, make sure you are takeing calories (or points or carbs or whatever YOU are tracking) into account. Only bring home things that will help you achieve your goals.

          As I shopped today some of the things I got excited about bringing home with me were Kashmir Spinach (from India), Pepper Steak (from China), and Onion Rice Noodles (From Japan). I bought 100 calorie packs of cinnamon almonds and 65 calorie pomegranate smoothie bars. What exciting new things will you find in the aisle of your local market?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 09:13:59

    So true!! So true!!!
    Having stuff around our house creates a temptation that my poor little discipline muscle is too weak to handle!!

    Love this blog! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

