Bend In The Wind

    

"The tree that does not bend with the wind will be broken by the wind" - Mandarin Chinese proverb

      I don’t know what kind of start you are off to, but before the first day of 2012 was over there were already obstacles to my best laid plans. Every day there was some new curve to navigate, but adventure is like that.  Anytime you set out to conquer new territory there will be unexpected challenges. How will you face the detours that come your way?

     January 1 – Our holiday celebration with my family was scheduled this day, and my Mom and Dad had provided many of my holiday favorites. This made it much harder to stay on plan. I could have said, “Oh well, I’ll start tomorrow” or stuck rigidly to my new way of eating and been disappointed. Instead I compromised. “All things in moderation,” is one of the best lessons my Mama ever taught me. “Healthy” foods were not the only thing on my plate that day but I did try to be mindful to eat smaller portions and limit desserts.

     January 2 –  My exercise was supposed to be a 2 mile brisk walk with my hubby. He received an emergency phone call and had to leave the house in the earliest morning hours and was not able to return until well after dark. I needed to rearrange my day accordingly.  Since my goal is to walk 4 mornings per week,  time on the treadmill the next day made a great alternative (and I did follow through). Next, I was on the road when it came time for my mid morning feeding. I did not have the planned bowl of healthy cereal available. So, I stopped at McDonalds and bought a hearty bowl of oatmeal and fruit that filled me so well I forgot my next meal. Oops.

     January 3 –  On my shopping trip I forgot to pick up the cream cheese to go with the bagel I had planned for breakfast. The weather was awful with snow covering the roads. The menu for January 3 was replaced by the menu for January 4 so that I wouldn’t have to recalculate calories or eat my bagel plain. Then my husband accepted an invitation for us to have dinner with friends at Olive Garden which meant the evening meal would not be the one planned for either the 3rd or the 4th. No worries. I visited Olive Garden’s web site and did a little pre planning. I enjoyed 1/2 a delicious salad and hearty Seafood Brodetta and my calorie count was less than that originally planned for the day. Bonus!

     January 4 – I awoke later than I had meant to. I didn’t have time to get in all the distance I had wanted on the treadmill. I still did one mile before work and finished the second after.

     Why am I still on track even with all these things getting in the way? Because I have decided to be a “Reed”. Today I would like to share one of Asops fables with you. It holds some very important truths. 

“The Tree And The Reed”

     Well, little one,” said a Tree to a Reed that was growing at its foot,
“why do you not plant your feet deeply in the ground, and raise your
head boldly in the air as I do?”

     “I am contented with my lot,” said the Reed. “I may not be so grand,
but I think I am safer.”

     “Safe!” sneered the Tree. “Who shall pluck me up by the roots or bow
my head to the ground?”

     But it soon had to repent of its boasting, for a hurricane arose which tore it up from its roots, and cast it a useless log on the ground, while the little Reed, bending to the force of the wind, soon stood upright again when the storm had passed over.

     Are you a reed? If so be pleased about it. Others may start larger than you and seem more grand in their plan. Someone else may be doing more exercise and eating the strictest of diets but how long will that last once the plan gets hard to maintain?  Be strong, be dedicated but start small and be ready to bend. Make changes you can maintain and if things don’t go as planned, modify the plan. Treat the challenges as opportunities. Be a Reed and be proud to be.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Norma Hall
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 07:58:25

    You are an excellent writer and make this adventure interesting instead of difficult. I look forward to your encouragement each morning. You need to write a book for those who don’t do computers well.

    Reply

  2. slimdownwithsandee
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 11:14:09

    Thank you so much for the encouragment. I enjoy the journey and having great folks to share it with. I hope you will continue to find it a blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

