Stepping Stones – Planning For Week 3

    

     Woo Hoo! Week 2 of 2012 down and beginning the adventures of week 3. It’s time again to take a look at our goal and action steps and see how things are progressing.

     Gather your Inspiration Journal and the page you took  from it last week during our Assess For Success time.  My “page” is hanging on the wall in my family room where I workout. It helps me stay focused on the goal and stay mindful of the action steps. I check the “To Do List” each morning at exercise time to see what I need to get accomplished that day. 

     I have decided this “page” that I plan to make each week needs a name. My creative and supportive hubby suggested calling it my “Stepping Stones For Success” . It’s catchy and is an accurate description. I like it. So “Stepping Stones For Success” it is. That is the title we will use in the future to refer to the page where we proclaim our goal, set our action steps, and make our To-Do list for the coming week. 

     Let’s start by looking at our goal. My goal is: “To weigh 135 lbs by 12/31/2012. (a loss of approximately 40 lbs in 1 year). ” As I look at my Weigh-In Wednesday weight of 171.0 on the Weight Tracker  I see that I am still ahead of the game.  If I had lost only one pound by this time I would still be on track. I feel confident that this goal is realistic if I continue to follow the plan, so the goal remains unchanged.

     Next, I will review the actions steps that I set the last week. The action steps sections of my “Stepping Stones” for the week of 01/08/2012 says “I will continue to eat nutritious meals and take in between 1300 and 1600 calories a day. I will speed walk at least 4 days a week for no less than one mile each session. My total weekly miles will equal no less than 8 miles. I will officially weigh in once a week and mark my progress on the Weight Tracker tool. Following these steps, by 12/31/2012 I will weigh no more than 135 lbs.”

     As I look at my action steps one by one, I see that the first is eat nutritious meals. I have eaten well-balanced meals, paying special attention to get plenty of fruits and vegetables. This is an important part of staying healthy as well as loosing weight. This part of my action steps will remain as is.

     I then see  1300 to 1600 calories a day as my goal for caloric intake per day. By looking at the food log for each day in my Inspiration Journal, I see that the fewest calories I have taken in was 1254 and the most 1600. This is the second week that I have fallen slightly under goal in my calories consumption at times, but only by a few calories. I am feeling satisfied and am eating well balanced meals. I will keep this action step as is.

     My next action step concerns exercise.  I will speed walk at least 4 days a week for no less than 1 mile. Looking back over my exercise, I have walked 5 days this week and over a mile each day. This step is working well. I hope to be walking 2 miles each day soon, but feel that it would be a push to make that a minimum goal at this point. For this week I will keep this action step as is. The next actions step states that I will walk at least 8 miles each week. I walked 8 miles this week and 9 miles last week. This is working well, so I will keep this step as is. I would like to get in some toning, in addition to the cardio work. I will add one workout session this week that includes toning. If my schedule allows, I could do a Zumba Toning Class with Angel on Tuesday! I always have a lot of fun doing that. If I must work it in at home,  Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred will do the trick. So in goes this additional action step.

     So for the week of 01/15/2012 this will be my action steps statement: I will continue to eat nutritious meals and limit my daily caloric intake to 1600 calories. I will continue to speed walk at least 4 days a week for no less than 1 mile each day. I will walk no less than 8 miles during the week. I will add one additional exercise session that includes toning and cardio together. I will officially weigh-in once this week, marking my progress on the Weight Tracker tool.

     Now I will make my to do list.  Everything that I had listed for last week got done and worked well for me, so I will keep those items on my list. I will look back over my Inspiration Journal for the past week and see what’s new. Is there something I’ve learned this week or something I’m adding that needs its place on the list? Well, I see that I need to make sure and keep the snack basket filled with low cal snacks. I’m also giving myself A’s for effort as I look back over my Daily Logs. I’m adding the cardio/toning session this week, and I don’t want to forget to assess my progress and create “Stepping Stones” for the following week. Let’s break this down even further. What individual efforts can I check off?

To Do List:

1. Plan Weekly Menu (See Plan To Eat Fabulous Foods.)

2. Grocery Shop (See Stocking The “New Me” Pantry.)

3. Refill Snack Basket (See The Real Food Fight .)

4. Weigh In (See Weigh In Wednesday.)

5. Organize Outfits and Gear (See Get Your Rear In Gear.)

6. Speed Walk 1 Mile or More 4 Days This Week.

7. Add 1 Toning/Cardio Session this week.

8. Track exercise in miles or minutes daily.

9. Keep a  daily food log with calorie counts.

10. Grade last weeks efforts (See A for Effort.)

11. Assess past week’s efforts (See Assess for Success.)

12. Create new “Stepping Stones” sheet for next week listing, Goal, Action Steps, and To Do List.

     Ok, now I’m ready to tackle week 3. How about you? If you haven’t reaffirmed your goal and clearly outlined what you are planning to do this week to get there, take a few minutes to do that now. Make sure you keep your goal in front of you and get your “Stepping Stones for Success” in place. After you have everything planned out and written out make sure to view this information daily. Blessings and health to you as we go into week 3.

 

Leave a Reply

