Rear View Mirror – Evaluating Week 3 and Stepping Into Week 4

 
     One of my favorite parts of the weight loss experience is after I’ve lost a few pounds my hubby will being to make comments on how my body is changing. One of his observations about every 10 lbs is that I’m getting “elephant pants” again. This is a reference to that point where I’ve lost enough weight that my pants are baggy in the rear. Only four weeks in and less than 8  additional pounds lost and he’s already making comments. Isn’t he sweet?
 
     At the beginning of weeks 4 of being back on track, the biggest thing I’m noticing is how much better everything feels. My stamina is improving and I’m beginning to enjoy the exercise so much more. I’m eating healthy foods and craving things that are good for me. I’m feeling full faster on less food. My energy levels are up and I feel better in my own body.
 

Weight Watcher's leader and Zumba Instructor Angel Chadwell shared this with our Slimdown With Sandee Facebook group recently. Doesn't it feel great to be this far into our success?

 
     I mentioned last week that it takes 21 days to form a habit. So, some new habits should already be in place for us. Things like checking the to-do list, going to the healthy snack basket, getting on the treadmill in the morning, and eating breakfast are all now becoming routine. The “healthier lifestyle” should begin to feel real, genuine, and permanent. Claim your new life of activity and wellness and enjoy it!
 
     At the beginning of each new week I strongly encourage you to look back over the past week and see how things went and then create a plan for the week ahead. Please see “Stepping Stones” if you have not assessed your progress and created “Stepping Stones For Success” previously.
 
 
     As you look at your written goal in your “Inspiration Journal” and your weigh-in results on the Weight Tracker do you still view your goal as realistic? If you are losing weight, even slowly but consistently, good for you! If you have a goal but no progress to report or no efforts to evaluate by the beginning of week four, then you need to re-evaluate whether you are treating your weight loss desires as “a goal to achieve” or as simply as “a dream to fantasize about”. Are you making and following a to-do list? Have you created action steps? If it’s only been a dream up to this point, it’s time to make a decision. Are you ready to commit?
 
 
 
   
    
      I am set to reaffirm my goal as-is, “To weigh 135 lbs by 12/31/2012. (a loss of approximately 40 lbs in 1 year). ” My most recent weigh-in still leaves me ahead of schedule on reaching this weight.  I feel confident that it is achievable and will work toward this end with vigor.

 
     As I look at last weeks action steps I read “I will continue to eat nutritious meals and limit my daily caloric intake to 1600 calories. I will continue to speed walk at least 4 days a week for no less than 1 mile each day. I will walk no less than 8 miles during the week. I will add one additional exercise session that includes toning and cardio together. I will officially weigh-in once this week, marking my progress on the Weight Tracker tool.”
 
     I did everything I set out to do but after reviewing the week I think I want to make a couple of little changes to the action steps for next week. On 2 of the 4 days that I walked I walked 3 miles. I have also added toning and cardio to the mix. I will keep the goal to walk a total of 8 miles during the week but I won’t require myself to spread walking out over “at least 4 days”. 3 days of walking and 1 of toning would work just as well. So I will eliminate the “4 days” piece.
 
     My action steps for the week of 01/22/2012 read as follows: “I will continue to limit my daily caloric intake to 1600 calories, focusing on good nutrition in my choices. I will continue to speed walk no less than 8 miles during the week and include at least one combined toning and cardio exercise session. I will officially weigh-in once this week, marking my progress on the Weight Tracker tool.
 
     I am finding the “to-do list” very helpful. I was able to accomplish everything on it this week and looking back over the past blog entries there are a couple of things I want to add. In order to help my metabolism stay strong I am adding a daily dose of fish oil (EPA  and DHA Omega 3) and minimum 8 hours of sleep to my “to-do’s”. Are there things from the 10 Ways to Increase Your Metabolism that you wish to add to your list? I have already made my collage and slide show, but if you haven’t you might want to add a Create Your Cravings project to your list. I also have my support systems in place. My husband Tony is my “Wellness Buddy” and my daughter Katie is my “Cheerleader”. My cousin and Zumba Instructor Angel Chadwell brings so many things to the table that fill the “Coach” role in my life, having been through this weight battle herself. If you don’t have “Team YOU” in place, it’s Time To Recruit. Add it to the list.
 
     Here is my “to-do”  list for the week of 01/22/2012:
 
 

To-Do List:

1. Plan Weekly Menu (See Plan To Eat Fabulous Foods.)

2. Grocery Shop (See Stocking The “New Me” Pantry.)

3. Refill Snack Basket (See The Real Food Fight .)

4. Weigh In (See Weigh In Wednesday.)

5. Organize Outfits and Gear (See Get Your Rear In Gear.)

6. Speed Walk a Total of 8 Miles

7.  1 or More Toning/Cardio Sessions (10 Ways to Increase Your Metabolism)

8. Take 2000 mg Omega 3 Daily (10 Ways to Increase Your Metabolism)

9. 8 hours of Sleep Nightly. (Breaking The Barrier)

10. Track Exercise in Miles or Minutes Daily.

11. Keep a  Daily Food Log with Calorie Counts.

12. Grade Last Weeks Efforts (See A for Effort.)

13. Assess Past Week’s Efforts (See Assess for Success.)

14. Create next Stepping Stones Sheet

     Week 4 Here We Come!!!!

 
    
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

