Swimming For Fun and Fitness

    

     I’m really excited because I’m traveling with my girlfriend Laurel this weekend and one of the things we enjoy doing together is going to the pool. There is an indoor pool in our hotel, so no matter the weather we can get in some swimming. With my focus on living a healthier and more active lifestyle I love finding fun ways to “workout”. Swimming is great  fun that burns calories and builds muscle without feeling like a chore. Did you know that there is no other workout better for burning calories, boosting metabolism, and firming every muscle in your body without putting stress on your joints? That’s what the Women’s Health article Best Swimming Workout: Lose Body Fat in the Pool says. How neat is that?!

     Is the calorie burn good for a few laps around the pool? Even casual swimming burns about 500 calories an hour with vigorous swimming burning around 700 calories. The water provides resistance so you are building lean muscle as you swim, firming arms, legs, hips, glutes, shoulders, and core. The increased metabolism effect allows you to continue to burn calories even after the swimming is over and you’re lounging around the pool.

     While fitness activities like running and strength training wear on the joints, swimming is kind to the body while providing great benefits. Swimming is good for folks of all ages and fitness levels. Bonus, studies show that when looking at blood pressure, cholesterol levels, cardiovascular performance, central nervous system, and cognitive functioning, habitual swimmers are biologically up to 20 years younger than their actual age.

     I’ve never been a strong swimmer. I didn’t even learn how to stay afloat until I was 18 years old. However, I love the feeling of swimming. Maybe this will be my next adventure – taking a swimming class so I can become stronger in my skill and add swimming to my weekly routine.

     Today I am going to swim and play. I will enjoy laughing and talking with my friends as I have some active time in the water. My weekly exercise goals have been met, so extra calories burned are “gravy”. Wish you were here to swim with me. Maybe you can find an aquatic center of pool near you and enjoy some water play today. Bet you will feel like a kids again. I know I do.
 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. what to text your ex to get him back
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 16:54:51

    Generally I don’t read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice post.

    Reply

  2. incinerador de grasa pdf
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 16:59:58

    Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?

    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, as well as
    the content!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

