Ezekial Bread

"Take wheat and barley, beans and lentils, millet and spelt; put them in a storage jar and use them to make bread for yourself." Ezekiel 4:9

     I wanted to share an exciting new food discovery with you, –  Ezekiel Bread!  This delicious new high-fiber piece of my eating plan is 80 calories a slice and low on the glycemic index, only 14 carbs per serving. It’s really a rather amazing concept. Inspired by the Bible verse Ezekiel 4:9, this organic bread product is 100 % flourless and is made of six organic grains and legumes – whole wheat, malted barley, whole millet, whole barley, whole lentils, whole soybeans, and whole spelt  — which are sprouted and then combined together to make a bread.  This process makes the bread more easily digestable as well. With it’s unique combination of grains and legumes it provides a complete protein. Here you have a bread that is nutritionally-dense, high in fiber, contains all 9 essential amino acids, is low in fat, has no Trans Fats or cholesterol, and is  low in sodium.   

   

      As someone formerly diagnosed as being insulin resistant I really try to avoid “empty carbs”.  I know avoiding blood sugar spikes helps me keep from becoming overly hungry, jittery, or having cravings.  In the long term avoiding these spikes can also help me avoid becoming diabetic. As a bonus the high fiber is healthy for my heart. I currently purchase my Ezekiel bread at the local health food store. Because it isn’t full of preservatives the bread is usually sold frozen. I find it to be delicious and have a great texture in spite of this. I often enjoy it with a slice of cheese as “cheese toast” with soup or a salad. It’s also great for sandwiches such as peanut butter or tuna. I have found several recipes for Ezekiel bread online but all are much higher in calories and carbs and seem pretty labor intensive, so I think for the time being I will stick with Food For Life from Annie Kay’s. It was a fab find!

 

Leave a Reply

