Give It 20

     One of the most important things I’ve learned in the last couple of years is that my body can learn to do so much more than I thought it could. I am not very coordinated and was not really involved in athletics growing up, even casually. For most of my life I have shied away from activities that seemed to require coordination or “skill”. I am so glad to say that those days are behind me.

     A couple of my current favorite fitness activities are things that I would have told you I simply couldn’t do –   Zumba dance and Hula Hooping. When I took my first Zumba class I felt completely lost and had serious trouble translating what I was seeing into movements my body could duplicate. Hula Hooping I had tried several times over the years only to quickly give up because after two or three attempts over about that same number of minutes I felt incompetent. I like Zumba so much now that my daughter and I have even taken Zumba centered vacations. I find my self anxious to Hula Hoop almost every evening while watching TV. I’ve done it so much, in fact, that I wore out my first “department store” hoop in less than a week, prompting my fab hubby to make me a custom fitness quality hoop that will allow me to really work my core.

Pinned Image

     If I hadn’t dedicated this minimum amount of time to learning these fun little skills I would have gone on thinking that I couldn’t do these awesome activities. Now I have great new hobbies that are really enjoyable ways to get in my exercise.

     Now I know that I can learn almost anything if I ask questions, break down movements, and repeat the same actions over and over. My new rule for myself is to give everything I try at least 20 minutes of my time. With 20 minutes dedicated to hula hooping I was doing pretty well, much better than I would ever have imagined. With 20 minutes dedicated to learning a salsa  or cumbia step I was pretty comfortable taking it on in the next class.

          I encourage you to try new things. Maybe like me you will add a new little fitness adventure to each week. When trying don’t give up easily. Dedicate some time to really trying things out. You might just find new loves along the way.

Leave a Reply

