Vicki’s Path to Half

This morning as I am gearing myself up to begin something new I wanted to re-read my Bestie’s blog about her beginning as a runner as a reminder that it doesn’t happen all at once but it will be so worth the efforts! A big “thank you” to Vicki Jansen for sharing and encouraging!

The Pondered Path . . . .

On April 28th of 2012, I ran in the Ocean City, MD Island to Island 1/2 Marathon.  It was an amazing experience, one that I will never forget.  Over the days that followed the race, many friends and family members congratulated me on my race.  My husband expressed great pride in my accomplishment; especially since I beat my goal time by almost 8 minutes.

What I want to write about today is not the 1/2 marathon race… but the path that led me to the race.  Many of the people who I work with assume that I am some awesome runner… that running has come naturally to me, that running is something I have done since I was young.  Nothing could be farther from the truth.  Those same people think that a half is something that they could never do – an activity that is beyond their reach.  They are wrong again.

View original post 1,336 more words

Leave a Reply

