Why Am I Doing This?

Pinned Image

I had a moment yesterday where I found myself asking the question, “Is all this hard work really worth it?” Don’t get me wrong, last week was amazing. My body is responding to the new demands and I love what is changing. I feel and see strength developing in new ways as I “run” and begin weight training and that is exciting. However, with sore abs and a hankering for a Mushroom Swiss Hamburger I was thinking to myself, “You’ve accomplished a lot. You’ve lost a lot of weight and you are much healthier. If you really want the body you’ve set out to get, however, it will mean long-term commitment to keep it. It will mean hard work and sacrifice for the long haul. Snickers bars will be few and far between and sweat will become routine. Do you really want to spend that kind of time in the gym pushing further? Do you really want to struggle to run faster and harder? Why? Is it vanity?”

so true!

I contemplated the question trying to answer myself honestly. I realized I am not looking for the ideal body so much as I am looking for the strongest, most capable, best me. I am less inspired by swim suit model builds than by movies about “survivors”. I don’t want to be the damsel in distress. I want to be the hero! I want to survive the Zombie Apocalypse. I want to be strong and tough and capable. I want to be able to out-run, out-wit, or over power any nemesis if need be. I want to be able to protect and defend. I want to be “Super Sandee”. Exercise can help me do all of that. So yes, it IS worth it!

Strong!

Take a moment and ask yourself the same question. Why are you reading this and joining me on this journey? Is it to look prettier, be healthier, be stronger? All have been motivating factors for me along the way. Get out your Inspiration Journal and write yourself a reminder of why you began this journey and why it IS important to carry on. When it gets tough to stick to the plan, pull out your journal and read the reasons. Keep it real and keep it close by. Don’t forget who you are and why it’s important to be your healthiest, best, you!

.

The New Skinny!

overcome

I'm not strong for a girl. I'm just strong.

Train like your stronger, fitter evil twin is plotting to kill you.

What exercise can do!

Pinned Image

Leave a Reply

