Stepping Stones Week 36 – Week 35 In Review

     Pinned Image

     August was a bit of a bust. I worked hard physically for the first two weeks but even then was not watching my calorie counts as closely as I should. The last two weeks of the month I barely exercised at all. I acknowledged that I had lost a bit of my motivation and was finding it hard to attack this thing with gusto. I followed by announcing that my vacation week was going to be pretty free and then I would come back with new energy and insight for September.

     I have to admit that it will take a lot of hard work and discipline to get back on track. That said, I am determined to move forward and try harder than before. I have a goal and can still reach it if I focus fully. There are reasons I set this goal. There are benefits to my health that should not be ignored. Happiness and health don’t come down to a particular number on the scales, but this number is a reasonable one and I think I will look and feel better when my body is in that range than I will larger. It’s worth working for.

     A couple of weeks ago I made this statement in the blog, “the calorie restriction required to lose the additional weight is very unappealing and I find myself as of late not really sticking with it at all. I am searching this week for the motivation to get back there. I know all the “rules” and lots of “tricks” but I have to want to use them. Any great suggestions to help me get motivated again? Affirmations are at the top of my list. What else do you recommend?”

     Several loving friends and readers came to my rescue with recommendations and affirmations. I would like to share with you one of the most powerful and hard to ignore responses which came from Vicki Jansen, my lifelong best friend and author of “The Pondered Path” blog. This is what she wrote to me.

Pinned Image

Motivation for Sandra to refocus (a list from her sister):

• 118 Slimdown with Sandee FB members and followers – plateaus happen, are real, and can last for weeks or months. Most folks quit when a tough one hits…. Your continued focus / effort will guide many through a process that has up until now eluded them.

• The Sheppard never leaves his flock… and you dear sister have quite flock! 😉wink

• Because you said that your size 8 pants are snug in the tummy… and that means I get to call you a muffin top if you wear them until they fit right. 🙂smile

• Physics – “A body at rest (unfocused, unmotivated, etc) tends to stay at rest (unfocused, unmotivated, etc) and a body in motion (focused, working, etc…) tends to stay in motion (focused, working, etc)…” Universal law…. No doubt a Biblical principle.

https://slimdownwithsandee.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/happy-no-excuses-new-year/

Things that help me keep going – even if progress isn’t happening:

• Setting physical activity goals – things I like to do, like running a 5K, doing a long bike ride, preparing for an event (1/2 marathon) etc…. it allows me to set a schedule and then work toward it. When the weight goal isn’t moving, then at least I am achieving other things and keeping myself from losing focus.

• I recognize that the healthy lifestyle is this – eating much less than I ever use to (because I am older and more efficient), remaining active 3 – 6 days a week. If I stop counting calories or exercising, then I will get the results that come with not counting calories and not exercising (weight gain, lower self-esteem, feeling bad). I also know that if I have a bad 2 or 3 days, or even a bad week, that I can let that go and start over. It is what we do MOST of the time… as we can’t do it right ALL of the time.

• Also – I know that I eat because I want to eat – not because I need to eat or because I am hungry. Remembering this and thinking about personal discipline and the importance of this (spiritually, mentally,physically) helps me to refocus.

     With these things in mind and a big thank you in my heart, I begin again. I do this for ME and for YOU and for all who thought that they couldn’t. I take one moment at a time, reaching further, working harder, and believing WE are worth it! It’s time to finish what I started and to finish strong!  I only have four months left. Every day counts.  Let’s do this thing!

Pinned Image

Stepping Stones for Success – Week 36

 

Goal:  “To weigh 135 lbs by 12/31/2012. (That is a loss of approximately 40 lb in 1 year).

Action Steps: I will limit my calorie intake to 1400 calories a day, continuing to focus on good nutrition in my choices. I put in 20 miles of cardio exercise.  I will also do 4 – 30 minute weight training sessions.  I will officially weigh in once this week, marking my progress on the Weight Tracker tool.”

To-Do List:

1. Plan Weekly Menu (See Plan To Eat Fabulous Foods.)

2. Grocery Shop (See Stocking The “New Me” Pantry.)

3. Refill Snack Basket (See The Real Food Fight .)

4. Weigh In (See Weigh In Wednesday.)

5. Organize Outfits and Gear (See Get Your Rear In Gear.)

6. 20 miles of cardio

7.  2 or more  Weight Training Sessions  (10 Ways to Increase Your Metabolism)

8. Give myself 3 “Get Out Of Diet Guilt Free Cards

9. Enjoy a Rest Day. (See Balance.)

10. Grade Last Weeks Efforts (See A for Effort.)

11. Assess Past Week’s Efforts (See Assess for Success.)

12. Create next Stepping Stones Sheet

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patsie Diamond
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 17:13:23

    You are a strong and beautiful woman! I am inspired by your words. You have more than once made me feel like I can hang in there, keep on track, merely by something you said or did on your journey. I am proud of you for making this affirmation and boldly going on where so many of us want to go but don’t have the courage to get there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

